kgastaldo

The *New* Office Hours

Blog Post created by kgastaldo Employee on Jun 1, 2018

*UPDATE: We're moving these sessions to EVERY OTHER Thursday, starting July 26th, for the summer. 

 

Our monthly session, Office Hours, has evolved over the years. Originally created by Jeff Potts and Richard Esplin, the idea was that people could drop in and ask for help - similar to the Office Hours you see at University. When I started with Alfresco, Office Hours had evolved into more of an informal presentation from Alfresco employees or community members, where we discuss happenings and offerings - around releases, the roadmap, or just some insight into Alfresco's internal workings.

 

While we think these sessions are still useful, Francesco Corti and I have been discussing how we can improve Office Hours. What is it that the community truly needs? We don't always have non-technical topics to cover with the community and we don't want to present for the sake of presenting. So, we'd like to bring back the original idea - with Office Hours being a time to come and get (and give) help and advice. 

 

We'll continue to host one-off sessions on the roadmap or any company announcements, but for Office Hours, we will be opening a weekly call in Zoom, where you can come if you need help or if you want to offer help. It will be a time where Francesco and I will be present, along with other Alfrescans (based on availability). All community members are invited to join us - let us know what you're working on, ask questions if you need help, or just work out loud for a bit. Many of us are remote, and I'm looking forward to seeing your faces on a weekly basis. 

 

Join us every other Thursday(11:30 EDT, 17:30 CEST, 15:30 UTC) - https://alfresco.zoom.us/my/officehours

 

Here are the dates:

 

July 26

Aug 9

Aug 23

Sept 6

 

We will discuss bringing these back to weekly as the summer progresses. Please continue to join us!

Outcomes