AnsweredAssumed Answered

Share and Sharepoint

Question asked by fselendic on Jan 30, 2009
If I open a document using Word and sharepoint integration, Share DocLib browser interface will have a nice little icon that says 'locked by you'. And the only action available is 'download document'. Which is OK.

But, when I open details page (with preview and all), all actions are there, alive and kicking. I can copy, move, delete, rename, even revert document version, all while document is opened in Office. And without any status change info presented in Word.

For other users browsing Document Library, Share disables any handling of documents that someone else has opened, even disables document preview (being maybe too eager :D).

Shouldn't document be really locked, even for user that opens it?

Outcomes