AnsweredAssumed Answered

Feedback from a new user / potential customer

Question asked by lurgen on Feb 17, 2010
Hi all,

I just wanted to provide some general feedback as a new user and potential customer. I run a small consulting firm and have been evaluating content/project management portal systems for in-house collaboration on technical projects. dotProject was where I looked first, Alfresco was where I looked last.

Two options interested me - hosting it myself (preferred), or in-the-cloud hosting. So I tried the first option (naturally) to take a look at the product.

As a business owner, my time is pretty valuable to me so I can't say I found the evaluation process particularly impressive. In short, here are my observations:
Marketing:
- The lack of pricing (even RRP) for any option at all almost ruled out considering the product at all. At the very least, cloud-based hosting options should be priced up on the website.
- A single day in-the-cloud eval leaves me with a hell of a hard-core evaluation task in front of me, so I didn't even bother with that option

Installation Process:
- Installation instructions should be clear and linear. I'm a technical guy (Masters Degree in IT, about 15 years technical experience, etc) but really struggled to get the thing to work.
- The installation guide jumps from OS to OS without warning, and has no flow to it at all. I found myself jumping back and forth trying to find the bits I missed
- It doesn't play nicely with TomCat 6 unless you use the bundled TomCat installer, there's no SSH-compatible install script (X11? Seriously, this is only something you'll see in home environments these days)
- I could not get it to work on a shared host and had to resort to setting up a dedicated Linux box in one of my racks (big hassle in an age where shared hosting is extremely common)
- The instructions for setting up MySQL result in a guessable database password (alfresco/alfresco isn't very clever) and don't seem to work anyway