AnsweredAssumed Answered

Uploading document does not replace old version

Question asked by danie_lgr on Nov 4, 2009
Latest reply on Nov 5, 2009 by pamolendijk
I have experienced an issue with Alfresco Share where uploading a new version of a document does not replace the old version, although the history information for both are kept. Basically, all I do is:
1. Check out a document and edit offline
2. Edit the document
3. Upload the new version.

This issue is not consistent - most of the time it works as expected. However, in the cases where it does go wrong:
- Previewing or downloading the document will result will provide the old version;
- The version information for the new version will be added to the version history;
- The previous version's date stamp changes to what looks like the document's last check-out date.

This issue is not easily reproducible, and does not happen for every document. However, it is a fairly major problem as we cannot be certain that the version in CMS is the latest available. At first I thought it might be local browser caching issues, but the old version is also shown on all other machines in the office.

Any ideas as to what might be happening?

Outcomes