AnsweredAssumed Answered

Deployment overview?

Question asked by jefficus on Apr 1, 2011
I'm an experienced software architect, but new to the Alfresco way of doing things. I've got a new project that I'm starting up, and my intuition tells me that Alfresco is the way to go. I'm very excited by the possibilities I'm seeing here, but I'm having a bit of trouble seeing Alfresco's big picture clearly enough to begin mapping out how I'd like to deploy it.

There are so many different capabilities, interfaces, modules, etc., and the various videos and documentations seem to be strewn across the historical version landscape, employing terms that seem to have evolved over Alfresco's lifetime. So, for a newcomer, I see references to WCM, and repositories, and document folders, the Share Interface, the Explorer interface, workflows, data lists, tasks, and on and on and on, but I can't get a solid handle on which terms refer to unique concepts and which ones are just synonyms for other ones.

What I'm looking for is the "big picture" overview of the main elements in the Alfresco system, and how they work together, but I suspect that an "architect's" view of this will be too technical for what I need at this stage. What I need is the CIO's view, connecting elements of the system to the business features they enable and some of the trade-off decisions they trigger.

Perhaps the best way for me to get my head around things is to explain the system I'm hoping to build, and maybe somebody could break it down for me in Alfresco terms…