AnsweredAssumed Answered

Developing custom app against Alfresco

Question asked by vladap on Apr 12, 2011
Hello,
we are seriously considering Alfresco as a DMS in our company to solve our DM needs in general. But we have a custom application producing reports from a manufacturing processes. At the same time we are prototyping a new version of this application for development. It means we are thinking how to integrate these reports to Alfresco. The custom apllication runs on MySQL and there is a table with data for reports and these reports can be easily constructed by a simple SQL selecting rows belonging to a particular report. I'm new to all technologies like Java, Hibernate, Spring etc., thus I have bit of a problem to put my picture together to understand what I need to do to implement it. We would like to use Share and move the custom app to a web app integrated with Share. Please, can anybody bring some light for me what implementation/integration strategy should I use? Many thanks for any advice.

Details:
My one idea based on my current understanding of Alfresco is to create a custom type in Alfresco which would represent the report, adding all Alfresco DM features to it - searchable, versioning… I would move all report editing (corrections) to the Alfresco. My question is if it is somehow (and how) possible to map Alfresco content type to an SQL which would retrieve a content for the report from another database and save changes to that foreign database.
Every change is saved as an incremental transaction thus it could be somehow posible to retrieve a particular version (via Alfresco versioning), like the original from machine.