cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
avirankatz

Can I signal a specific receive task?

Jump to solution

Hello,

I've read the following documentation regarding signaling an execution (in the user guide):

13.6.2. Execute an action on an execution

PUT runtime/executions/{executionId}
Table 90. Execute an action on an execution - URL parameters
ParameterRequiredValueDescription

executionId

Yes

String

The id of the execution to execute action on.

Request body (signal an execution):

{

"action":"signal"

}

The above request works, but it doesn't signal a specific receive task? I'm looking for something like:

{

"action":"signal",

"receiveTaskId": "myReceiveTask"

}

I'm new to both activiti and BPMN, so if this question is regarded to bad understanding of CPMN principals, I would love a clarification.

Thanks in advance!

Aviran

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cjose
Senior Member II

Re: Can I signal a specific receive task?

Jump to solution

Since signals and messages can be used in a variety of ways, the signaling a signal on a receive task cannot work as you mentioned by "receiveTaskId": "myReceiveTask".

Signals are generally used for broadcasting. If you are looking to send a signal to a particular receive task using a boundary event I suggest using a message event. For better readability, name the message event something like "receive-task-message-event" which makes it look tied to your receive task . 

For completing the receive task it is a two step process, you will first need to query for active message subscriptions (executions) with name "receive-task-message-event" and get the execution id. Then complete the message subscription by executing the API

Hope this helps.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
avirankatz

Jump to solution

Anyone?

cjose
Senior Member II

Jump to solution